In our last post we took a closer look at Sharing Videos on Social Media but that's not where the value of video ends. In this post we will take a look at other ways to Leverage the Value of Video and Use Video to Build Links to Your Site.

Strategy Overview

Why It Works

How To Do It

Effect

Strategy Details

There are many Video Directories that readily accept video content to be uploaded. Loading your video along with a unique description and link to your video embed page on your site, can increase its SEO value and be a natural and sustainable back link building strategy.

Creating and Using a Video Directory List

A word of caution: Due to the transient nature of the directories listed below, the list was considered complete and useful at the time of publishing this post. However some of these directory sites may no longer exist, or they may no long offer only reference type videos. This list should not be taken as an exhaustive list of all the video directories you should submit your videos to, and should not be taken as a list endorsed by us. In fact, some of these directories may contain content that some may find offensive, and if you do not carefully consider the other content on theses sites, you may end up doing damage to your brand.

Rather, use this list as a guide to build your own submit list. Visit each directory, identify those that align with your brand and product. Create your own master list of video directories to submit new videos to.

Keep in mind that submitting videos to these directories will require logins and passwords. Be sure to keep these handy, but safe. In addition, posting video to directories can be very time consuming. It would be better to create a sustainable list of 10-15 video directories that you would like to consistently submit video to, and be diligent in submitting to them, rather than trying to submit to as many as possible, but not be able to sustain the effort.

Video Directory Submission List (permalinks have been deliberately removed)

Name Link
YouTube http://www.youtube.com
Yahoo Video http://video.yahoo.com
Ning http://www.ning.com
College Humor http://www.collegehumor.com
MySpace TV http://vids.myspace.com
Daily Motion http://www.dailymotion.com
Rambler Vision http://vision.rambler.ru
Metacafe http://www.metacafe.com
Cnet TV http://cnettv.cnet.com
Multiply http://multiply.com
Imeem http://www.imeem.com
Veoh http://www.veoh.com
Break http://www.break.com
Hulu http://www.hulu.com
Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/details/movies
Truveo http://www.truveo.com
WebShots http://www.webshots.com
GameTrailers http://www.gametrailers.com
Vimeo http://www.vimeo.com
Ustream http://www.ustream.tv
Lycos http://mix.lycos.com
Revver http://www.revver.com / http://revver.com
Funny or Die http://www.funnyordie.com
Blip TV http://blip.tv
Current TV http://www.current.com/
Mogulus http://www.mogulus.com
Video Jug http://videojug.com
Blog TV http://www.blogtv.com
Joost http://www.joost.com
Atom Films http://www.atom.com
Grind TV http://www.grindtv.com
Motion Box http://www.motionbox.com
Kyte TV http://www.kyte.tv
Get Miro http://www.getmiro.com
Spike http://www.spike.com/
Big Think http://www.bigthink.com
Scivee TV http://www.scivee.tv
Athena Web http://www.athenaweb.org
Fire Ant TV http://www.fireant.tv
Photobucket http://photobucket.com/recent/videos
4Shared http://www.4shared.com
TinyPic http://www.tinypic.com
JustinTV http://www.justin.tv
Tu TV http://www.tu.tv
E Snips http://www.esnips.com
Pandora TV http://www.pandora.tv
Stage 6 http://stage6.divx.com
Buzz Net http://www.buzznet.com
YouTomb http://youtomb.mit.edu
Ebaums World http://www.ebaumsworld.com
Live Video http://www.livevideo.com
Live Leak http://www.liveleak.com
Sevenload http://www.sevenload.com
Heavy http://www.Heavy.com
Dalealplay http://www.dalealplay.com
Mania TV http://www.maniatv.com
Crackle http://www.crackle.com
Vod Pod http://vodpod.com
Vuze http://www.vuze.com
Funny Junk http://www.funnyjunk.com
Gorilla Mask http://www.gorillamask.net
WonderHowTo http://www.wonderhowto.com
Viddler http://www.viddler.com
5min http://www.5min.com
ooVoo http://www.oovoo.com/home.aspx
Vidlife http://www.vidilife.com
Jumpcut http://www.jumpcut.com
One True Media http://www.onetruemedia.com
Sumo TV http://www.sumo.tv
How Cast http://www.howcast.com
Teacher Tube http://www.teachertube.com
Shred or Die http://www.shredordie.com
Pure Video http://www.purevideo.com
One World TV http://tv.oneworld.net
Eye Spot http://www.eyespot.com
Babel Gum http://www.babelgum.com
Our Media http://www.ourmedia.org
Show Medo http://www.showmedo.com
Everyzing http://www.ramp.com
12 Seconds TV http://12seconds.tv
Video Bomb http://www.videobomb.com
Jaycut http://jaycut.com
Free V Log http://www.freevlog.org
Ovi http://share.ovi.com
Engage Media http://www.engagemedia.org
Grouper http://www.grouper.com
Mojito http://mojiti.com
Your File Host http://www.yourfilehost.com
Flurl http://www.flurl.com
Dada http://us.dada.net/video
Vbox 7 http://vbox7.com
Jokeroo http://www.jokeroo.com
Vidivodo http://www.vidivodo.com
Magnify http://www.vidivodo.com
Mojo Flix http://www.mojoflix.com
Put File http://www.putfile.com
Street Fire http://www.streetfire.net
Broadcaster http://www.broadcaster.com
Vidmax http://www.vidmax.com
Spiked Humor http://www.spikedhumor.com
Clevver http://www.clevver.com
Expo TV http://www.expotv.com
Funny Hub http://www.funnyhub.com
Your Daily Media http://www.yourdailymedia.com
Kaneva http://www.kaneva.com
Yikers http://www.yikers.com
Drop Shots http://www.dropshots.com
Disclose TV http://www.disclose.tv
Fliqz http://www.fliqz.com
My Video http://www.myvideo.co.za
Broadband Sports http://broadbandsports.com
Funny Place http://www.funnyplace.org
Vsocial http://www.vsocial.com
Fame Cast http://www.famecast.com
Spy Mac http://www.spymac.com
Holy Lemon http://www.holylemon.com
Dorks http://www.dorks.com
Mind Bites http://www.mindbites.com
Cast Post http://www.castpost.com
Tag World http://www.tagworld.com
Rooftop Comedy http://www.rooftopcomedy.com
VMix http://www.vmix.com
Video Dumper http://www.videodumper.com
Troop Tube http://www.trooptube.tv
Big Contact http://www.bigcontact.com
Famster http://www.famster.com
Pickle http://www.pickle.com
Cuts http://www.cuts.com
Dot Comedy http://www.dotcomedy.com
V Log Map http://www.vlogmap.org
Yideoz http://www.yideoz.com
Uvu http://uvu.channel2.org
File Cow http://www.filecow.com
Ziddio http://www.ziddio.com
Flickr http://www.flickr.com
Vidiac http://www.vidiac.com
HotShare http://www.hotshare.net/en/share/videos
Clipser http://www.clipser.com
WebCastr http://www.webcastr.com
Shout File http://www.shoutfile.com
Clip Junkie http://www.clipjunkie.com
Video Vat http://www.videovat.com
Flick Life http://www.flicklife.com
Open Film http://www.openfilm.com
Tubetorial http://www.tubetorial.com
Clip Moon http://www.clipmoon.com
Vddyou http://www.viddyou.com
Wildscreen TV http://www.wildscreen.tv
Video Web Town http://www.videowebtown.com
Ezprezzo http://www.ezprezzo.com
Tube Desi http://www.tubedesi.com
Viewdo http://www.viewdo.com
Helpful Video http://www.helpfulvideo.com
Voomed http://www.voomed.com
Encyclomedia http://www.encyclomedia.com
Need for Fun http://www.needforfun.com
Blog Cheese http://www.blogcheese.com
Daily Comedy http://www.dailycomedy.com
Motor Sports Mad http://www.motorsportsmad.com
Hungry Flix http://www.hungryflix.com
Self Cast TV http://www.selfcasttv.com
Dave TV http://www.dave.tv
Zeec http://www.zeec.net
Vidipedia http://www.vidipedia.com
Dovetail TV http://www.dovetail.tv
Cozmo TV http://www.cozmo.tv
Qube TV http://www.qubetv.tv
You3B http://www.you3b.com
Constant Comedy http://www.constantcomedy.com

Do you have any input on this video series? Video citations you would like to add or suggest removing? I would love to hear from you. Comment here or Tweet the author @ainsleymuller.

If you have enjoyed this series and think it might be useful for others, please consider sharing it. Thank you in advance!

© Muller Consulting 2021